Chasing the moon…

moon.jpg

I’ll admit it, I live out in the boonies. I live an hour drive away from ATL because I love having time in the car to think about anything that crosses my mind. I often drive all of the way home with no radio or phone to distract me. I usually use this time to see and think about a lot of really cool things. Tonight was one of those nights.

On my way home from work tonight, I chased the moon all of the way to my front door. For those that didn’t see it, the moon was “large and in-charge” tonight in the ATL. It was great for me because God took this time to really open up to me and remind me that I live in His universe and that He made me and everything else around me. Following are some of the things I thought about on the way home tonight.

There are billions of planets out there that God created and if he wanted to, he could have put each one of us on our own little world where He had us all alone and to Himself only. It’s awesome that He put us all here together on one planet, and all he asks from us is to love Him and to love each other. When I get frustrated with others, it would probably be in my best interest to think about what it would be like if God had placed me in a world all by myself where I couldn’t see Him showing His love to others as well. God made each of us dependent on Him and each other at the same time. If you think you aren’t dependent on other people, I would love to hear about it. And if you think you don’t depend on God, I don’t think you’ve really met Him yet.

I believe that Jesus Christ died on the Cross for me, but I also believe that He died on the Cross for everyone else as well. How would it change my perspective if Christ had died on the Cross only for me? Would I appreciate His gift to me more or less if I didn’t know that He died to save us all from ourselves?

When I see something such as a beautiful moon or a sunset, I get really emotional because I know that God created it and He makes it happen every day as a constant reminder that He is there for every one of us. He even gives it to the people that deny Him. He continues to give to them even though they don’t realize they are His gifts. How cool is that? Am I capable of that kind of love?

I could sit here and quote Bible verses all night, but this is one of those moments that God chose not to use words to talk to me. He was showing off on another level tonight. We had our own conversation in our own little language and I love that. How awesome is it that God can speak to each of us on such an individual level? I wonder how many people looked up at the same moon tonight and were moved to think about nothing but God, just like I was? How many looked up and thought “That’s pretty neat!” and then forgot about it? I thank God every day that He allows those kinds of things to happen. It just makes Him even bigger compared to my narrow and infinitely shallow opinion of Him. I could never truly comprehend just how BIG God is and I’m okay with that!

That’s all pretty cool to me…

~ by jtcrespo on November 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
