Merry Christmas!

merry-christmas-myspace-glitter-graphic-3.gif

I hope everyone has had a Merry Christmas so far.

I wish I had pictures of last night, but I forgot my camera. I went with the Romans to Southside Church for their Christmas Eve service and we had a great time.

Jonathan and Candi Shelton were there along with Casey and a rockin’ band. I got to see Little Drummer Boy done again with a drumline drummer. That was pretty cool! The worship was awesome and then we heard a message with a New Year’s challenge and Communion. It was nice to be able to sit back and participate in an environment where I had no phone calls during the service and I wasn’t having to watch everyone around me the whole time. It was very relaxing for me, so I was able to give it all to God for a change. I need more of that…

Here’s something that really impressed me last night. I am not a big fan of Pro Tools loops. I see using a digital loop to begin a song as cheating. I get a little disappointed when I see a band begin a song by just standing there doing nothing while a Pro Tools loop is playing. This is usually controlled by the drummer. During worship last night, I saw the drummer reach for a laptop and thought to myself “Here it goes again.” Much to my surprise, I didn’t hear anything over the PA (he was just turning on the “click”). The drummer then turned around and started PLAYING HIS OWN LOOP! OMG!!! I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I hadn’t seen that in so long.

Anyway, It was a great evening spent with great friends in a great environment. If you are ever on the south side of Atlanta, I highly recommend Southside Church! Jared led me through their building while we were looking for someone and it was really interesting to see all of the Northpoint style environments represented in such a creative way. And we thought Buckhead Church used to do well with such a small space before. These folks are top notch…

Today I am just sitting back and relaxing. All of the gifts are opened and I just received a heated mattress pad, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to warm that baby up and hop back in bed for a while. Maybe if I add my heated throw, it will be just like being in a toaster oven. Hmmm, sounds dangerous, but I live for danger! I guess it’s a good thing I’m not a bed wetter.

~ by jtcrespo on December 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
