Let’s hope for the best…

sad-face-thumb343186.jpg

This is not what I expected to be posting now. As stated earlier, I put the Geo in the shop for a little addition that I was really looking forward to. Over Christmas, I received enough gift certificates to have a new stereo installed. I went in, I picked out a stereo unit, left my car with them to be installed and I came back later to pick it up.

On the drive home, I noticed something wasn’t right and stopped.

The lights on my air controls would not come on any more and the air controls were not working properly. By the time I got back to the shop, the air was not working AT ALL. Upon further inspection, I noticed that my dash faceplate was now broken and part of it was sticking out from the rest of the dash by about an inch. One of the air sliders had lost the click points and now just slid back and forth loosely. Two of the other sliders were in a bind and would barely move at all. My car looked like someone installed the stereo with a sledgehammer.

Since the installation people had already left for the evening, I went straight for the store manager. I showed him what had happened and explained that I had a perfect dash and air controls when I brought the vehicle in and I pretty much expected that when I got the car back. He agreed that something was wrong, but he was very careful not to admit fault. That scares me a lot. I left the car with them to look at tomorrow, but we’re looking at some pretty costly repairs that will need to be done at either a certified shop or a dealer.

I’m not going to mention the company that did the installation because I want to give them the opportunity to do the right thing before I cast doubt on them and get my car fixed to the point it was at before the initial install. It’s sad to say, but I probably won’t sleep much tonight over this. I just can’t understand how someone could do such a poor job and think I would be happy with it. I’m really disappointed right now.

~ by jtcrespo on December 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
