Pleasant Surprises and New Friends…

happy-face.gif

Alright then, so here’s the deal. If you’re thinking this will be another post about my silly car, you’re only partially correct. This is more about being a good customer and the rewards that can come from it. If you aren’t up to speed on the latest drama with the Geo, I encourage you to read my previous post first to get an understanding of the situation.

First of all, I’m going to spill the beans and admit that I sent the Geo to Best Buy to have the new stereo installed. It was against my better judgment, but Best Buy gift certificates don’t really work anywhere else. I know that they have a long history of poor customer relations and many people walk into their stores expecting to be let down. I shamefully admit that I was that guy until this afternoon.

On the drive to the installer’s shop, I was preparing myself for what I knew was going to be a bad experience. I was even repeating to myself “Grace and Understanding” over and over. I know that bad things sometimes happen, and I can live with that. What irks me most is when what could be easily fixed is only made worse by a seller that isn’t understanding of their consumer’s desires. I was expecting this to happen today. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Of course it didn’t help that I spent most of my free time last night online and reading about other people’s bad experiences with Best Buy. FYI – This only feeds any fears you may have. Don’t do it.

I walked into the installer’s shop today ready for combat, but I decided that I was going to be the nice guy. This isn’t normal for me. I’m usually the person that will walk in and list my demands and expect them to be perfectly satisfied. When I got there, I was met at the door by the lead installer (Adam) who apologized for my inconvenience and immediately walked me out to my car to give me a status report. He had already installed the radio again correctly and fixed the climate controls to the best of his ability. Somehow, they had managed to find a local vendor that had a spare dash and he said that they would have it in a few hours. (This really surprised me and it later led to the best part of today’s experience.) We sat in the Best Buy parking lot and chatted for twenty more minutes about pretty much everything but my car. This set my mind at ease because Adam had assured me that he was going to fix it and then he was confident enough that he could stand there and carry on a conversation with me. I left the store happy and anticipating the call telling me to come pick up my car in a little while.

Later I got a call from Adam telling me that they weren’t able to get the dash because the other vendor forgot to mention that they were closed on Saturdays. I said I understood and would wait to hear from them again. Then Adam did something unexpected and truly above the call of duty. He said that he had talked to the same manager that I had spoken to last night(Ben) and both of them agreed that I have been patient and understanding far beyond what I should have been. He asked if I would like to come back down to Best Buy and pick out a full set of speakers and they would install them for free. You could have knocked me over with a feather when I heard him say that. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing, so I quickly drove to the store to take advantage of this generous offer.

But wait, it gets even better. When I got to the store, Adam and I were chatting about my speaker options and we both agreed that my options were pretty limited because the speaker locations on the Geo really aren’t the best. This where Adam went and looked at the back of my car and said to go get even better speakers than the stock sizes because he found a place he could make them fit. For those that aren’t in the know, this is a custom fit. He basically agreed to pull off the interior panels and custom mount better speakers in there. This also means routing new wiring to both of the new locations. Truly unbelievable! Then we were talking about how hard it was to get parts for the car sometimes and he told me that the guy he was getting the dash from had five other Geo Trackers sitting on his property and he would give me his number so I could go and purchase whatever I needed from him in the future.

Needless to say, I am amazed at the lengths both Adam and Ben went to just to make sure I was happy. If you’re in the Atlanta area and need stereo work, go to the new Best Buy in Cumming and ask for Adam. Tell’m Jerry sent-cha!

And that’s enough about that! I now resume my usual nonsense. You may be asking: “But Jerry, Why would you even want better stereo equipment in the Geo?”

My only reply is: “Because It’s my Duty, To Shake My Booty!”

~ by jtcrespo on December 29, 2007.

2 Responses to “Pleasant Surprises and New Friends…”

  1. Dude, that is AWESOME!!! After talking to you last night i knew you were pretty upset. I am so proud of you going back in as “The Nice Guy” It really does pay off.

    I can’t wait to ride in the new, even more pimped-out GEO and listen to “It’s Your Duty”

  2. WOW!! That’s amazing. I have too many stories of terrible customer service but not many that are exceptional. And that truly is exceptional!! If I need to go to Best Buy for anything I will have to go to that one. Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

 
