WOW…

cloverfield.jpg

We’ve been getting ourselves worked up into a frenzy for the past few weeks over Cloverfield. Get ready, Cuz this flick is going to knock your socks off.

Here’s my review of it with NO SPOILERS!

This movie isn’t really a movie. It was the first time in a very long time that I didn’t feel like I was being told a story. I felt like I was in the story. Because of the interactive nature of this film, I highly recommend seeing it in the theater. If you wait to see it on DVD, you just won’t get it. You should also go to the best theater you can. It’s that immersing. If they play it at an IMAX theater, you can bet that I will be there!

The movie may be short but it packs a lot of action into the little time it’s on the screen. You get to see enough of the bad guy to get a feel for it, but in this case I feel the movie would have been just as good if you never really got to see it. If you think about it, were we to be a part of something like this, chances are that we would never even see what was attacking unless we saw it somewhere on TV. J.J. Abrams really played on that. The content was well put together and executed in an incredible way. It was very realistic in terms of what I imagine the situation would be like.

The crowd we were a part of was awesome. Everyone was enthralled pretty much the entire time. We were pointing and giggling at many of the people in the theater sitting on the edges of their seats. Later we found ourselves doing the same thing. Every time the action slowed down (which isn’t very often or for long), I could hear pretty much everyone sharing how awesome the scene before was. I didn’t even care because I was doing it too. People were screaming at all of the right parts. I’m going to be honest in that I have a pretty good tolerance for these types of things, but I even found myself just wanting to be held or nurtured during a few parts. There was nothing too gruesome though which is more of a credit to how they used your own imagination to build the experience.

Even though they took some time in the beginning for character development, I never really cared about the characters. It’s a shame that they were all overshadowed by the action, but they were never really the focal point as far as I’m concerned. It’s very refreshing to finally see a movie where I didn’t care about a story or the actors or where it was going. I wasn’t being led, I was running for my life in my mind.

The camera perspective had a lot to do with how I feel about this movie. I was REALLY a part of the action. I don’t want to ruin it for anyone who doesn’t know, but this movie was shot in a different way. Several other movies have tried it the same way, but J.J. really pulled it off in the sense that it was never over done.

So here’s the rundown:

Edge of your seat action: Check

Awesome effects: Check

Laugh out loud comedy: Check

Tear your heart out drama: Check

Intensity: Check

Just go see it, this movie has it all…

~ by jtcrespo on January 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
