Is Coffee the New Pipe Organ?

Lately I’ve been amazed at the amount of coffee that comes into our building on Sundays. You can often tell what the flavor of the day is at Starbucks just by the aroma from our trash cans. Now don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with coffee. I openly admit to being a caffeine addict as well. But even I can live for one hour without it.

I can’t help but wonder how coffee has become so strongly attached to Christian culture? I understand that coffee is a global trend and fashion accessory, but have we taken it too far? People ask all of the time why we don’t have coffee bars in our lobby and tell us all about how awesome other churches are because they do serve coffee. Could you imagine if the hot job to have as a barista was down at the local chapel?

Someone once told me that if we served coffee, it would be a great draw to get people in who normally wouldn’t come to church.

My answer: Then why not serve free beer? We’d pack the house…

I’ve also heard that it would be more convenient because people are often late after they were held up in the drive-thru getting their latte’.

My answer: Late people are usually always late. (Chronically late people will easily admit to this…) Good habits start before you leave the house.

People say that attenders will stay awake if we give them coffee.

My answer: We have a half empty 6pm service for those people. If they aren’t awake by then, coffee may not help. We would love to fill those seats also.

I remember reading in the 7 Practices of Effective Ministry that we are a church of steps, not a church of programs. Now I wouldn’t want something like a lack of coffee to come between someone and their relationship with Jesus Christ, but I often wonder how coffee will lead someone to a growing relationship with Jesus Christ. The smell is Heavenly and it serves as proof that God exists and Jesus loves me, but I don’t think it would ever have been responsible for leading me to Him unless He wanted it that way. That would be one awesome cup of joe…

Aren’t you guys glad that decisions like this aren’t left up to me? You do understand that I’m just kidding around and don’t really speak on behalf of BC, right?

~ by jtcrespo on April 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
