The Big Dream…

For those of you that don’t work here at BC, yesterday we had a staff meeting.  In that meeting, Jeff asked us a few questions that we should be asking ourselves.  One of those questions was “How am I dreaming big personally?”.  I couldn’t believe that for the first time, I actually had to think about that.  I haven’t been dreaming at all recently when it comes to myself.  Wanting to sleep and lose weight is fine, but that’s not really dreaming in my opinion.  I needed something bigger!  All night and most of today, I’ve been thinking through this and trying to decide what my current dream should be.  I think I may have come up with something, but I’m going to run it by you and see what you think.

First a little more info about me that you may not have known.   I am an explorer at heart.  If you were to ask me what I would do if I had unlimited money, I would tell you that I WANT TO EXPLORE.  Other than mission and humanitarian work in China, I would travel and see places that very few people have seen.  I would sail to the Arctic regions.  I would fly to the moon.  I would go anywhere that I haven’t been before.  It’s just my nature.  If you drop me off somewhere that I’ve never been, I’m not going to panic. I’m going to thrive!  I’ve found that I need that in my life to stay happy.  Every weekend, I think about getting away and seeing new things from the time I get home until I go to work again on Sunday.  Everything is an exploration for me.  I actually peek at my desk every day in the hopes that something on it might have changed.  Unfamiliarity is exciting to me.

So what does that have to do with dreaming big?

I always thought that in itself is dreaming huge, but I realize that me going to the moon is probably not an attainable goal at this point.  I have to be realistic, which I think has determined my next big challenge.  There is one thing that I have always wanted to do, but I could never really do before.   Now I have the finances to save, and nothing holding me back, so I can actually pull this off.

I want to do an Adventure Ride on a motorcycle.   Above is a picture of an adventure bike.  (An affordable one!)  A BMW would be nice, but they cost too much and they don’t really do anything this one won’t.  It is the kind of bike that goes on-road and off-road and could travel around the world if I wanted to.  This is a Suzuki DL1000 V-Strom with aluminum panniers (side bags) and all kinds of other goodies.  I can get a used one set up like this for around $8000.  A BMW would cost two or three times that…

So here’s the plan.  I want to set a goal of Spring/Summer 2009 and save until then.  I figure $10,000 will get me a good bike and a two week or more trip around the US doing whatever I want.  I could even travel out west and get lost on fire roads in the Rockies.  The possibilities are endless.  I would take my camera, blog the trip and make lots of new friends along the way.  And at the end of the trip, I would have an awesome motorcycle to ride to/from work and get away on weekends on.  I don’t know how it works for you, but saving 10 grand on top of my other obligations, is an extremely lofty goal that will even take a lot of “side gigs” to accumulate. *counts on fingers and mumbles to self* Holy cow! That’s like $1000 a month I have to make and save!  Throwing a leg over that bike at the end would be a real dream come true.  (Does anyone need any yard work done?)

You should know that I’ve already started the trip by signing up for an intermediate training course in early August…  So what are your thoughts?

Yes, it is totally a selfish desire, but this is a pesonal dream.  I have less selfish ones as well.  😉

~ by jtcrespo on June 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
