Funny conversation…

…with a motorcycle dealer.

I went out this morning to do a little research on the motorcycle I’m looking for. This involved visiting several local dealers and taking a look at the new bikes to get an idea of what to expect from a good used one. I had fun.

You should know that I have a long history in sales and marketing and I know a lot of the tricks. Try a sales trick on me and I can’t be held responsible if your head is spinning when I walk out. If you are honest and sincere with me, I’ll buy anything you’re selling. This is a conversation I had with someone who was not so honest or sincere…

(We’ll call him Ted)

Ted: Somethin’ I can help you with?

Me: Do you have any V-Stroms?

Ted: No, And if you find one, you better buy it, there aren’t any within several hundred miles of here.

Me: You should go to the dealer down the street, he has two brand new ones in his showroom.

Ted: You better go back and buy one, they won’t be there long. Why didn’t you buy one of those?

Me: I wanted to see what you had and he wanted too much for them. Besides, one of them was a 2007 purchased in 2006. It won’t be going anywhere fast. I have two other bikes and plenty of time.

Ted: Well, with gas prices being what they are, we can ask whatever we want for bikes. I just sold a used KLR 650 for $1000 over the price of a new one.

Me: That sucks, he must have missed the other used one at the front door selling for $800 less than MSRP. You really screwed him. I don’t want to be like him.

Ted: (pretended to ignore that comment, but was visibly irritated) Well, bikes are selling for a lot now. Let me show you these bikes on Craigslist that are selling for more than they sold for new.

Me: No need in all of that. The price on Craigslist is an asking price, not a sold price. They aren’t firm. The “OBO” after the price stands for “Or Best Offer”. I have a 1995 Geo Tracker that I could try to sell on Craigslist for $100,000, but I’ll probably be lucky to settle for $4,000. Now, Can we discuss this seriously?

Ted: Well we have to be realistic here.

Me: That’s good advice, Thank you for your time.

This was the last guy I spoke with. Yes, I was hard on him, but I had been trying to talk to people all day and getting stuff like this. Why do people have to lie to explain why they don’t have something? Why do they have to try to justify charging you more than a manufacturer recommends when there’s a good chance I already know what his markup is?  Why can’t I just walk in and have someone speak to me like I’m an intelligent person?  I wasn’t going to try and prevent him from making money, but I do expect a fair deal.  This is why I don’t like to deal with dealers. Unfortunately, people still flock to them…

~ by jtcrespo on June 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
