Encouragement…

I just got off of the phone with an old friend. I’m not one for long phone calls, but this call lasted a really long time. I called her to offer my support because she has been facing some incredible battles lately and I know that she still has a long way to go. I had intended to give her as much support as I knew how to give. Boy did she turn the tables on me…

We opened up by talking about her week and the progress she’s made despite obstacles that would break most people down for good. I was able to slip in a few words of encouragement before she asked me about some things that she felt I may be going through. (FYI – I love it when someone knows me well enough to know that I am coasting on the surface. I also love it when someone calls me out and asks me point-blank what I’m skating around.) I felt bad opening up the way I did because I know what she’s up against, but she asked for it and I let it all out because it just felt right. She listened to me as I told her about a struggle I’ve had for almost a year, she then asked me how I was responding to it, and then she gave me more encouragement than I’ve had in a long time. We even discussed Biblical situations much like mine and how I have responded in a way that is honoring God and respecting everyone else involved. We talked about areas that I need to improve and the things that I probably won’t be able to change. Through our conversation, I was able to see where I have grown and many future opportunities for personal growth no matter what the outcome. As the conversation was coming to a close, I apologized for making our discussion all about me because it really was the furthest thing from my mind. She acted a little offended at this because she had asked to discuss it and then she told me how much of an inspiration I am to her in her struggles. As we hung up, I felt really good about where I am and wherever my path takes me.

I feel like I’m often too busy with trivial things to truly see when someone is bothered and expand the discussion the way she did with me. I want to become more like that. I want to be better at encouraging others and not seeking my own encouragement.

(Note: You may know the situation I’m talking about. If so, I ask that you not mention it in comments below so that we can just talk about encouragement instead of specific situations. If you don’t know, it is not a reflection on you in any way.)

And by the way: I reeeeeally need a vacation right now, but I’m waiting for cooler weather so I can go on the motorcycle. I put a windshield on it today, so it’s ready for some touring…

~ by jtcrespo on August 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “Encouragement…”

  1. I don’t think I am privy to your situation but when you get the correct encouragement for your own struggles it feels amazing doesn’t it!! And, generally the encouragement does come from someone else who is battling something huge… they seem to know best what to say!! But then, I think we all struggle with something… even if its untold! I will be praying for you!!

  2. Jerry!

Leave a Reply

 
