Long Way (Let)Down…

Over two past two weeks, I have seen two episodes of Long Way Down.  As you may recall, I have been eagerly anticipating the release of this show, but now I’m pretty let down.  As I watched, I was excited for Ewan and Charley as the trip came together, but as soon as they began the trip, the whole thing went flat for me. I just couldn’t get into the mood as they were wandering around Scotland and doing things that seemed a lot like “filler material” to me.  I found it hard to get into the story as they tried to develop it, so I checked out.  I’m a firm believer that the best stories are truly spontaneous and this all seems overly planned and they’ve made it even more obvious that there’s a fleet of cars following them around supporting them.  I guess I’ve hit that point where it’s not an adventure to me if you are not truly self reliant. Don’t get me wrong, It’s still incredibly difficult to do, but my mind automatically defaults to solo mode when I think about making a trip like that because that’s how I would have to do it and so would 99% of the rest of the world.

It seems that I’m not the only one that feels this way.  There was a lot of buzz in the motorcycle circles that I hang out in just prior to release, but I haven’t heard a single word about it from anyone since.  I guess it’s safe to assume that it went flat for others as well.

Ewan – Sorry buddy, but the magic isn’t happening for me this time.

Maybe I’ll catch the DVD when it comes to Netflix… Sad eh?

~ by jtcrespo on August 10, 2008.

3 Responses to “Long Way (Let)Down…”

  1. Oh no! You sound like a kid who just found out there was no Santa Claus.

  2. Maybe so, but now I’m going to move on to the Easter Bunny. He’s the real thing because he doesn’t use some fancy sleigh. He does it the hard way! He hops everywhere when walking would probably be even easier.

  3. Yes, yes…true. The Easter Bunny is the most impressive and athletic of all mythical creatures. Unless you count Richard Simmons, then game over.

Leave a Reply

 
