I’m a geek, and the end is near!…

I put this on Twitter earlier, but not everyone is on Twitter, so here it is on my blog.  (I know, I almost forgot I had this…)

Here is a pretty cool rap video explaining the LHC (Large Hadron Collider) on the France/Switzerland border. (Thanks Siobhanne for posting this video on the forums and reminding me about this thing!)

Click on this sentence for the link to where the following picture came from.

This thing is huge!  The tunnel is 17 miles around.

Here is the wikipedia page on it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Large_Hadron_Collider

So anyway, what the LHC does is it collides particles at super low temperatures and super high velocities and then it studies what happens as those particles collide.  As you could see from the video, the possibilities are endless in terms of what this thing could discover.  It is expected to create microscopic black holes that can be studied as well. Pretty cool eh?  It’s first firing should happen on October 21, 2008.

Now here’s the fun part: This experiment is seriously playing with unexplained parts of the universe and possibly beyond if there is such a thing.  The doomsday folks are already predicting that this thing could blow up the entire planet or suck it into a black hole.  That fascinates me!  It’s not every day you get to see the entire planet destroyed…  I’m just kidding of course, but I am very interested in the fact that this thing has the possibility to change everything we learned about mass, physics, and such in school.  I love scientific discoveries because of this!

Who knows, this thing could even open a portal to another dimension and aliens could come through and kill us all.  It’s pandelerium!

So here’s the deal.  I want to discuss this with anyone who feels like chatting, but I want to do it in a funny way.  Being serious is boring…  I want your most creative story about what’s going to happen when this thing goes off.  I’ll even try to get one up soon.

~ by jtcrespo on September 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
